Recon CS-6 Blaster & Accessory Review (Basic Nerf Write Up Review)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I’m reviewing one of the first Clip System blasters ever to hit the market, the Recon CS-6 that came out in 2008. As with all Basic Nerf reviews, the blaster reviewed has been first hand battled tested. I’ll also review it’s accessories that come with it. With this in mind, hit the jump for the review of one of Nerf’s most (in)famous blasters.

To understand the blaster more, we must also be informed about it’s history. It was only the second Clip System blaster to ever be created in 2008. Slam Fire was not yet invented and their were only 6 dart clips. Throughout the years the Recon has been fix & repainted for the masses. The original yellow, Crimson Red, Clear, Sonic Green, and most recently Gear Up Orange. Thats 5 different colors.


Yellow


Crimson Red


Clear


Sonic Green

Gear Up Orange

Each blaster comes with 1 clip, 5 streamline darts, a shoulder stock, flip up sight, barrel attachment, and a light bean unit. Some special deals bundled things such an extra clip or extra darts along with it. The blaster was recalled in 2009 due to it’s longer, larger, uncovered plunger tube catching on people’s skin. The result is the black cover you see on the back of most Recons. This also allowed the use of future stock attachments such as the Raider stock and Spectre stock. Attaching these to the older, uncovered Recons would not be possible. However since these new Recon’s plunger tubes are smaller, so ranges are not as good.

It’s one of Nerf’s most recognized and beloved blasters due to it’s appearance. I was catching up with an old friend of mine yesterday. When we went to Kmart, it only took her a second or two to point out this blaster as the one her brother owned. The attachments give it more personality, but do they give it more functionality? I’ll tackle those questions later in the review. I’ve tested all the attachments that come with the Recon. The blaster itself is easily found in most major retail stores, and it can be equipped with all clip system clips, including the Stampede 18 dart clips, the Alpha Trooper 18 dart drum, and the Raider’s 35 dart drum. This allows for some versatility.

I’ve had a lot of mixed experiences with the Recon personally. It’s a solid blaster, and it’s notoriously unpopular inverse plunger system set up the stage for other blaster’s internals down the road, most notably the Alpha Trooper and Raider as the most popular. Although the Recon is marketed as an assault rifle of some sort, it performs nothing like it. It came out about a year before the Raider and it’s slam fire. The ranges are reported as 25-30 feet in stock form, but with it’s usage of Streamline Darts something tells me it’s more like 15-20 feet range. It’s been a while since I last used this blaster so I’ll do a range check sometime this weekend.

The gray handle/priming area features a tactical rail on it, which is poorly placed. It’s great to strap things on to make it look cool, but trying to strap on items there and priming it during battle is a bit tougher because of the extra item on the priming area. To some people it might not bother them, but for me it always bothered me a bit if there were items on it and I needed to prime it. I felt like I would break the tactical rail attachments, and during battles things like this can’t and shouldn’t bother you. You can put attachments on the barrel add on that comes with it, but that decreases range by about 5 feet.

I’ve also had a good amount of problems with Recons jamming on me. A user must make sure that they push the priming area all the way to properly chamber a dart. Old darts tend to make this harder and cause the blaster to jam up more often. Jams are harder to clear then modern blasters because the jam doom flips open, but not all the way. Most current Nerf blaster’s jam doors slide back, allowing users to get to jams easier and at more angles. The Recon jam door doesn’t flip up to 90 degrees, and as a result can only allow users to get access from a certain angle, making it harder to clear jams. I would say this is a problem due to a frequency of jamming. I often clear blasters from the bottom, in the clip area, since I have long fingers and reach into the blaster. Heres an example of this Recon jam clearing difficulty. About a year ago my friend’s and I were playing Nerf in our homemade arena. There were 3 people on my team, and only 1 left on the opposing team. He had two hits and he needed one more hit on him for us to win the game. I got barrel tapped rather hard on a rush. The game seemed to go on a small pause as he asked if I was ok. I just kept screaming shoot him. But my other teammate got taken out (my 7 year old little) and my other teammate couldn’t un jam his Recon during this whole time. I would say he had about 10 seconds to un jam it, but due to the added difficulty of the battle he couldn’t do it.

Lets talk about accessories. The barrel extension increases accuracy by guiding the darts, but due to the increased friction they fly about 5 feet shorter. Handy for indoors games where encounter and skirmish distances are closer, but the added length makes it a little harder to maneuver in doors. It comes with a tactical rail on the top and bottom of it, which make handy slots for the laser beam and flip up sight. This also attaches to Long Shots and Spectres. Recons can also accept the Long Shot Front Blaster and Spectre suppressor attachment.

The Laser Beam Unit (not sure what it’s officially called) is not that bad of an attachment. It’s powered by two double A batteries. I’ve played Nerf in almost pitch black using this. It casted a dim light over a distance of about 20-25 feet when I tested it. If it hits closer targets, it’ll cast a solid red circle of light on it though. I would say it can be used as a poor flashlight. It casts just enough light for you to see in the dart. It’s primary use is for targeting though. But don’t forget that Nerf darts aren’t the most accurate things

The Flip Up Sight isn’t bad either. I forgot how the Recon manual describe how to use it, but it’s similar to the flip up sight from the Hunting Rifle in Fallout: New Vegas. A real world comparison slips my mind at the moment. But your supposed to “Flip Up” the sight, adjust the circle on the sight, and use that to aim. Keeping it down also makes decent iron sights.

The stock gets mixed reviews. Some like it due to the fact that it can carry an extra clip, but some dis like it because it’s flimsy. In my personal experience, I can see the benefits of an extra clip, but I usually run with the Nerf Tactical Vest and cargo shorts, which can carry plenty of ammo I would say. I’ve also found it a bit tough to get out in a pinch. I would use a Raider stock if you want stability.

It’s an features and abilities are outdated. However the clip system capability, small size, and option to add stock still make this a popular blaster in the stock/light modding community, particularly with the Humans vs. Zombies community. Many good comments have been made about it’s class to class usage. Orange Mod Works is selling a mod kit for $17 US Dollars. The kit allows the ranges to be pushed to 50-60. The Recon’s wide availability,nicely marketed look, and variety of colors & designs keep this 3 year old blaster popular.

Over all it’s not a bad blaster. However it doesn’t really excel at anything. It gets normal ranges, and only comes with normal 6 dart clips. It doesn’t have slam fire, and it’s accessories aren’t really anything to drop extra money on. It also seems to jam a good amount with im proper usage. Your going to get out ranged or out get gunned by a higher rate of fire blaster in head to head battles. It was quite something for stock Nerf players when it came out, but theres blasters with better features out in this new decade of Nerf. I’d give it a 7 back when it was released, and I’m lowering it to a 6.5 in today’s choices. Again it still has some usage in today’s Nerf community.

Also be sure to look out for blaster size comparisons, range tests, and photos regarding this blasters. I’ll update this post when I can get this info first hand.

3 thoughts on “Recon CS-6 Blaster & Accessory Review (Basic Nerf Write Up Review)”

  1. The plunger tubes on the recons before the recall had no volume difference compared to the plunger tubes after the recall. The extended part was not part of the plunger, so it didn’t affect performance.

    Hasbro may have started using a weaker spring after the recall, which may be why the new blasters under-perform compared to pre-recall blasters.

    Like

  2. I believe that a lot of Recon jams are due to human error or bad darts – I’ve extensively used my Recon and has only jammed upon me being an idiot, or the use of bent, damaged darts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

