Tips, Tricks, and Strategies to Dart Tag Success (Basic Nerf Article) (Part 3)

I’m gonna keep this real brief since it’s about two in the morning right now.

4/17/2012 EDIT: I wrote these quick tips with the 2011 Dart Tag Tournament in mind. I personally talked to two of the participants and was hoping one of them, or any other participants, would get something out of this.

Communication is Key – That way people should know when other’s are moving in, going for the flag, etc.

Control the Engagement – Fire from behind cover, hit opponents from angles, use teammates in fights. Playing aggressive also connects with this.

Play Aggressive – Don’t play passive and think about about things you should have done. Leave it all out there. Also the rules award you for being aggressive. 1 point per tag, 5 points per flag capture.

Keep it Balanced – There’s going to be times when you need to be aggressive, and times when you need to kick back and defend the flag. Make your actions match the situation.

3 on offense, 1 on defense. – It’s a strategy Collin told me. With the map layout, you may even be able to go 4 players on offense.

Sneak Attacks aka Rushing can play a factor – Just picture your self in a shootout, and both players aren’t getting anywhere. All of a sudden one of them rushes and takes the other out. All my rush attacks are sneak attacks.

X Factors – Age, athletic ability, blaster choice, injuries, blaster blocking, and can be all x Factors. Adjust accordingly and play to your strengths.

Blaster Dart Blocking – Just do it if needed. I prefer a dodge, but either one can work.

Proper Swarmfire Usage – I think it would be good as a defensive blaster or a support blaster in a dash for the flag. Also, keep this sucker reloaded. I believe the Swarmfire and it’s usage are an X factor.

Weapon jamming – These internal mag blasters jam hard. I would just take them to the ref and try and get them replaced.

Playstyle & Blaster Choice – Pick the blaster that goes with your playstyle.

Go Cap B – AKA control the middle area to your base. I listed reasons why in my breakdown of the play arena.

No Sharp Shots for Me – I think the Sharp Shot is too slow to be used in this tournament, so get your team to use the other blasters.

Don’t be afraid to get into Tag Game – The flag might be really hard to capture, so if you can’t get it, go for the jersey tags instead and try to get points like that.

Vary things up if Necessary – Switch up blasters with your teammate, switch positions, etc. I would only recommend this during closer games as it can throw the enemy off.

And that’s all I got for now.

9 thoughts on “Tips, Tricks, and Strategies to Dart Tag Success (Basic Nerf Article) (Part 3)”

  1. I’ll try and do that. This was just something quick I typed up for some players. I also didn’t have any footage of the games, just a couple of photos to work with.

    I’ll try at the footage out now, and most likely will re-do this article in the future when Nerf releases their official footage from the game and when it gets closer to another Dart Tag Tournament.

    Like

    1. Nah heres the thing about these tips.

      I wrote them with the 2011 Dart Tag Tournament in mind. I personally talked to two of the participants and was hoping one of them, or any other participants, would get something out of this.

      Like

Leave a Reply

