Campaign to Camarillo 2012: Step 4, Batteries, Barrels, & Bags (Photos)

IMAG0272
Never in my life have I been so excited for AA batteries.

It’s been almost 3 weeks since my last update on this, and a good amount of things(6 to be exact) have been completed for the game. First things first, and possibly the biggest thing, is that I received my Trustfire batteries in the mail this Friday. I wasn’t sure if I was going to actually get these. I placed an order for them on the 10th, and then the United States Post Office announced a sort of ban on shipping/receiving Lithium Ion Batteries on the 11th. The interpretation wasn’t clear to many people, including myself. After saying a few prayers, they came in the mail, and wow do they make a difference. 60-70 feet, a higher rate of fire, and a seemingly easier trigger while doing zero work is great.

I did a decent firing test, going through 3 18 dart clips (54 darts) with the Recon barrel and then with the Spectre barrel on. The Recon barrel is a little longer and thinner then the Spectre. You got a noticeable better grouping and “accuracy” with the Recon barrel on. What I mean by accuracy is the Recon barrel’s center where the most of the darts landed was about 60 feet out there, pretty much in a straight path. When I fired from the Spectre, some of the darts went farther (in their awesome Streamline flying path) more of the time. BUT the majority of the dart’s center was about 60 feet out, two steps to my right.

So it looks like I’ll be rocking a Recon barrel for my future Rayven usage. I just need to find someway to make it look less lame. I’ve done a decent amount of online and mouth to mouth advertising, posting on Nerf Haven, Nerf Revolution, Foam Universe, Adult Fans of Nerf, Reddit, posting on my blog, and the HvZ Forums. I’ve also sent a message to Vanguard University’s (they play there) student site called “The Voice” but no answer yet. I’m also planning on send messages to the students Azusa Pacific, Pasadena City College & Cal Poly Pomona. These three colleges can only use socks in their games. Adult Fans of Nerf have a web video series, and I’ll be asking my affiliates to make an announcement there as well.

I’m still reading the Art of War, chapter by chapter. A lot of times I have to stop, think about what I just read, and ponder on how I can apply it to my line. Sometimes, I go back and read things again. As you can tell, it can be very time consuming. My Nerf Tactical Vest has been replaced by a chest rig. I want to keep it a surprise, but I’ll be sure to reveal it in the weeks to come toward the game.

I also recorded more GoPro videos with my friends. We played all Siege once again, and I used the Rayven and my new chest rig, so I have a decent idea on what I need to change and edit with my chest rig usage and loadout. Keep a lookout for those videos this week. Theres 55 days until this HvZ game. The days can’t come fast enough.

Checklist:
Get a little bit more comfortable with my blaster of choice for this game, the Rayven.
Work on Cardo, at least 3 times a week, for 25-30 minutes each.
Start collecting and counting bad socks.
Learn how to roll them up, if there is a proper technique.
Finishing reading the Art of War.
Get Spectre barrel from other storage site. Test grouping between Recon barrel and Spectre barrels.
Invite, and in some cases convince, friends to go.
Modify or improve Nerf Tac Vest and/or drop pouch loadout.
Sort good darts from bad darts. W & T Streamlines for the win, remember?
Possibly get different containers for good and bad darts?
Check which 18 dart drum clips rotate well, and which ones don’t.
Get a feel or find a way to track 18 dart clip usage.
(Most likely) buy GoPro Hero 2 camera and SD card to record footage of game.
Buy stronger voltage batteries, battery converter, case, charger, and multimeter from Chinese store (note to self, allow 3 to 4 weeks 3 to 8 weeks (usually 4) for shipping).

2 thoughts on “Campaign to Camarillo 2012: Step 4, Batteries, Barrels, & Bags (Photos)”

  1. I’m surprised you didn’t go for the full four. 16.8 volts of awesome.

    The Rayven’s unbeatable with those in the battery compartment. Its easy to unload five rounds dead accurate before anyone even knew what hit them.

    May I recommend Vision Gear while using it, though. I haven’t been hit in the eye yet, but given their little sting at close range (its not really bad at all, but its noticeable) it might be good to have something on just to be safe.

    Like

    1. Oh I have 6 of these bad boys. But according to SG Nerf.

      “In addition, at higher voltages like 16.8V, the flywheels spin so fast that there tends to be an increased rate of slippage and mis-fires, which results in rather unpredictable shots.

      So far in my tests, i’ve found the most ideal voltage to be at 12.6V for a more reliable combination of improved range and shot consistency.”

      And I can’t really be dead accurate, cause I’m using stock ammo and you know wonky they can be after a certain range.

      Vision gear is probably gonna have to be used when my friends are around this thing in a Nerf War. I’m probably gonna keep it at 12.4v for HvZ, which is why I got the batteries. But they’ll be used in Nerf Wars as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

